Creative Workspaces #2

I asked some more writers and artists to tell me a bit about their desks and studios…

 

Jenn Thompson

Writer

London, UK

“For the first time in about a decade I’ve finally got an actual desk. No more writing on beds/floors/kitchen tables. It’s some sort of Scandinavian bureau from the 20s and was given to me as a present when I moved into my new place. I keep all my notepads and writings in the drawers, as the workspace is quite small. It’s usually cluttered with books and comics and such which I read when not at work. I do most of my creative work here, with a frog, a hipflask, and a solar powered Japanese lady looking down.”

Jenn writes for forbookssake.net

Jenn's desk

Nina de la Mer

Writer

Brighton, UK

“The space where I write is a world apart from the fictional topics I write about. Looking out of my study window at a tree-lined street and school playing field, I travel within my own mind to grimier settings like lap dancing clubs and British army bases. Health and Safety would have a field day over my so-called work station. The desk is our too-high-up old kitchen table, the office chair the cheapest I could find. Above eye level are various morale-boosting pictures, and to my right a calendar where I’ve added dates of short story competitions which I’d like to enter this year (work and children will probably put a stop to that). I think I’m pretty lucky to have this space but I don’t think a writer’s room is essential: The important thing is to clear your head, clear enough room for a laptop or notebook – and write.”

You can find out about Nina’s latest book here: myriadeditions.com/Layla and follow her on Twitter @scarydelamarey

Nina's desk

Finbarr Bermingham

Journalist

London, UK

“This is the workspace I share with my girlfriend (she’s the musician). After a transient few years I’ve now lived in the same home for more than two years for the first time in over a decade. It’s nice to have a ‘space’ and I probably do what I consider to be my best (non-work related) writing here. But I still tend to do the majority of it on the hop. I guess old habits die hard.”

You can follow Finbarr on Twitter @fbermingham and find his blog here fbermingham.wordpress.com

Finbarr's desk

Hannah Stuart-Leach

Culture & Lifestyle Journalist

 Bristol, UK

“Since I spend most of the day staring at black and white Word documents, I like to surround myself with as much colour as possible. Anything bright and stimulating – yet somehow still calming. There are three pink and green lotus flowers behind my screen, which I made having been inspired by the lanterns in Buddhist temples in Korea. Light is important too, it helps keep me alert having a view of the world outside. I’m terrible for hunching over my desk, but since I hit my 30s I’ve been making smalls efforts to sit properly. The stack of books under my laptop is my half-hearted attempt at ergonomics.”

Hannah’s website is hannahstuart-leach.com and you can find her on Twitter @printisnotdead

Hannah Stuart-Leach's desk

Jennie Gillions

Writer

Colchester, UK

“I work on a 1950s mahogany desk in the study off my bedroom. The bookshelves are behind me. My brain is a cluttered place so my desk isn’t – pen, pretentious Edgar Allen Poe notebook, antique globe, photo of my nephews, a box of letters and postcards and things, and a bit of art. The laptop is on the floor because today’s a fiction day; I can write my For Books’ Sake journalism straight onto the screen but fiction drafting needs to be in my own handwriting.”

Jennie’s Twitter is @JenGillions She writes for forbookssake.net and theinspiredmadman.wordpress.com

Jennie's Desk

Hannah Evelyn Rowlands

Illustrator

London, UK

“I don’t have a studio or a spare room to work in (London rent is already bloody enough) so use half my bedroom as a working area for my illustration work/drawing/photoshop marathons. I LOVE toys… and do collect them. I have a few vintage Fisher Price wheeled animals and lots of Lapin & Me toys as I’ve drawn them quite a lot for the shop in the past year. I found the Kewpie in a bin on Kingsland Road! Haha, I did have to wash it a lot, god only knows what it was covered in… The silver lamp is Ikea and I love it. I do try and change the pictures up a bit, I don’t tend to put much illustration up as I prefer photos, paintings or bits of design (doing illustration kind of makes you sick of looking at other illustration and I also think it’s best if you don’t!) But I do have some vintage illustration bits up, alongside two recent artists Nathalie Lete and Yoshitomo Nara because they are two of my all time favourites. Also I’ve got a few bits of Ana Albero’s work stuck up, an illustrator from Berlin whose work I really like.”

You can find Hannah’s website here: raisinheart.com and find her on Twitter @raisinheart

Hannah Rowlands' desk

Alexis Somerville

Your humble editor

Brighton, UK

“My workspace has changed since the previous post as I’m staying with a friend in Brighton over summer before I move to Lisbon. I don’t have a desk in my room but my housemate has kindly lent me the kitchen table. Naturally there are no drawers so it can end up as a dumping ground if I’m not careful. Though I don’t have that much of my stuff here so that helps. I’m more excited about stationery than most other objects and have recently received some awesome gifts from friends (rubber stamps & ink pads, Korean stickers & notebooks). I decided to put up some pictures even though I’m only here for a short while. It makes me 40% more likely to do stuff. ”

Alexis' desk

 

Leave a Reply

