2012 in pictures

Well, this is my 100th blog post and it’s the end of the year so I thought I should do some kind of retrospective. It’s been a very different year from 2011, when I lived in Shanghai.

Here are some aspects of 2012 that I managed to document in between moments of actually living my life. I’m mostly going to ignore the negative stuff because a) I didn’t photograph it and b) I’m in a really good mood right now.

In February I moved to Sicily for four months. I lived in Siracusa, on a tiny island called Ortigia which is attached to mainland Sicily by three bridges. I drank a lot of coffee and ate even more pasta than usual, & made some great friends. I lived alone in a big flat about a minute’s walk from the sea, something I could definitely not afford to do in the UK.

1 3 2

While in Sicily I visited Taormina with various friends and family. It was ridiculously beautiful.

7 9 8

For my birthday in April, I had an Alice in Wonderland-themed picnic in the pretty fishing village of Marzamemi. My friends Nino, Aisling and Karl helped make it a great day, as well as several other people who couldn’t make it but sent me cards, presents and nice messages.

10 12 11 - Copy

In my last few weeks on the island, my friend Aisling and I decided to dress as explorers and investigate some of the archaeological sites and nature in Siracusa. This probably didn’t help my delusions that I was Indiana Jones, as mentioned in this previous post: https://ghostzine.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/museo-archeologico

14 13 15

Just before leaving Sicily, my friends and I met some people who were involved with a travelling anarchist opera company. There were puppet makers, musicians, video editors, acrobats etc., all living on a boat in Licata. They invited us to visit them and we managed to fit it in during our last weekend. We had a brilliant beach party with a camp fire and live music and starlight. Definitely one of the highlights of the year.

16

I moved back to Brighton in July (where I had previously lived from 2009-10). Occasionally it stopped raining.

IMG_1805 IMG_1833

In August my friends Amy and Paul got married and I was a bridesmaid. It was an amazing wedding. It was at the beautiful Treasurer’s House in York and afterwards an old-fashioned red bus took us to the reception at Fulford Golf Club where we were treated to lovely food plus live music from a 60s rock’n’roll band. This is the painting I did for them as a wedding present.

IMG_1875

In October I went to London and saw friends in Primrose Hill, Camden and Mile End.

IMG_2282 IMG_2300 IMG_2296

On December 1st I slipped and fell over in my house for no good reason at all (I was just cooking some innocuous food). As I am hypermobile, my hip went out of place briefly. Ouch. It was painful for weeks afterwards but it’s almost back to normal now so I’m really appreciating being able to walk properly again.

IMG_2852

Then suddenly it was Christmastime (okay, very recently) and I came back to York.

IMG_2653 IMG_2695

Anyway, that was a small selection of the stuff that happened this year.

Happy New Year to all, please keep reading Ghostzine in 2013!

Comments
2 Responses to “2012 in pictures”
  1. Kàrl says:

    Where was the 6th picture taken?

Leave a Reply

