Top Davids

I’ve decided to compile a list of the best celebrity Davids, not because I have too much time on my hands, but because it’s a very important issue too infrequently discussed in today’s society.

I decided not to put them in order because it’s too hard, and then I might have to come up with a sensible number of Davids, e.g. five, or 10 or even 20… as it is, I am going to feature all the Davids I think are pretty damned important and give a special mention to the ones suggested by others but who were too numerous for me to write about individually.

David Cronenberg directed the likes of Videodrome, eXistenZ and The Fly. Gory kitsch at its best. The other week I had a dream that people had weird fleshy appendages that people should just NOT HAVE. It was semi-disturbing, but when I woke up and realised that my dream had been reminiscent of a Cronenberg film, it somehow made me feel better.

Next up, David Johansen of the seminal protopunk band, New York Dolls, who had hits in the 70s with the likes of Looking for a Kiss. I love the band, Johansen was a wonderfully charismatic performer and I am slightly obsessed with this photo.

I quite like David Shrigley’s art, and I like it even more since I found a hoodie in Taiwan with the below picture on it, clearly breaking all copyright laws… but obviously I had to buy it. Admittedly I don’t wear it outside of the house, but whenever I put it on it makes me ‘laugh out loud’ (I’m sure there’s a quicker way of saying that phrase for the purposes of the internet, but I can’t seem to think what it is.)

There are two famous David Mitchells and as far as I’m aware they could both be worthy of this list. However, I’m not really familiar with the author of Cloud Atlas, not having read any of his books, so I’m going to stick with the comedian. I first came across Mitchell in the brilliant Peep Show, and he now brightens up various newspapers and TV panel shows with his wit and awkward charm. It’s a shame these qualities haven’t rubbed off on his wife-to-be, Victoria Coren (writer, professional poker player and presenter lacking in presenting skills).

David Byrne is a founding member of Talking Heads, one of my favourite bands of all time. His recent collaboration with St Vincent is ace. Here is an old picture of him eating some cereal or something.

This list would not be complete without the weird and wonderful David Lynch. He has directed some of my favourite films ever: Wild at Heart is ridiculously good, as are Eraserhead and Blue Velvet. Sadly I’ve never seen the TV series Twin Peaks all the way through, but intend to remedy this as soon as is humanly possible. Aside from his films, Lynch combines a coffee obsession with a love of meditation, a feat I don’t think I could personally accomplish. As much as I love coffee, I can’t drink it after about 2pm without having trouble sleeping, therefore I really can’t imagine meditating while maintaining a coffee habit like his (around seven large cups a day). Good work, Lynch. He has also released an album called Crazy Clown Time. What’s not to like?


David Duchovny was pretty great in The X-files. I never really got the idea of him as a sex symbol, but I thought Fox Mulder was cool. He is also in the aforementioned Twin Peaks as Denise Bryson, a transvestite DEA agent. He played Hank Moody in Californication, a show which I expected little from and turned out to be really quite good (okay, maybe in a guilty pleasure kind of way).

Before we go any further, I’d just like to mention all the Davids my friends suggested but who didn’t quite make it to the stage of having a picture and a little write-up. If anyone wants to provide these things, however, I can add them to the blog. Unless I totally disagree. Anyway, here goes… David Niven, Jacques-Louis David, David Hasselhof, David Attenborough, King David, David Schwimmer, David Blaine, David Tennant, David Icke, David Gest, David Tomlinson, David Soul, David Seaman, David Prowse, David Simon, David Bailey, David Beckham, David Rockefeller, the statue of David, David (and Goliath), David Hockney, David Mamet, David Letterman and ‘some kid called David’ from the Pulp song, Babies. Thanks for all the suggestions, feel free to add more ideas in the comments.

Anyway, I know I said I wasn’t going to put the Davids in order. And I haven’t. But regardless of that fact, the number one David has to be the inimitable Bowie. As one of my friends put it, he is the David of Davids.

There is little more to be said. I know – let’s look at lots of pictures of him in his youth.

Comments
6 Responses to “Top Davids”
  1. Kàrl says:

    Yeah Bowie’s definitely number 1

  2. Elbe says:

    Good call on David Johansen- really ashamed that I totally forgot to put him on my list. Whoops. But then again, you have a lot of explaining to do that David Niven didn’t even get a look in edgeways. Despicable!!
    Here is a quote from him to change your mind:
    “I have a face that is a cross between two pounds of halibut and an explosion in an old clothes closet.”
    He’s so charming and suave, and quintessentially British I love him.
    Especially in ‘A Matter of Life and Death’.

    But this is a truly great blog post, and I am so pleased that you chose the picture of David Duchovny in drag- never looked better haha.
    I am going to spread the word about this post… it’s so great.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Alexis says:

      Aaagh, can’t believe I forgot to add David Niven! A Matter of Life and Death is one of my favourite films ever. Also, that quote is amazing! I will edit this post to add him into the general Davids list and if I have time I will give him a special entry. xxxxxxx

  3. Andrew Cooper says:

    I agree! David Bowie should be no. 1 – but the music’s even better than the pictures!! What’s your favourite Bowie? For me, it’s the LP “Station to Station” – all of it! Andrew C
    (btw, Kirstin McL also loved this album)

    • Alexis says:

      Glad you agree! I will have to have a think about my favourite Bowie album and get back to you… it’s a hard decision! Station to Station is excellent though.

Leave a Reply

