Queen Sea Big Shark

Last night I went to see Beijing’s Queen Sea Big Shark, a Chinese band famous enough that I’d read about them in Time Magazine before moving to Shanghai.

Freshly returned from SXSW in Austin, they wowed the new Mao Livehouse with their catchy indie rock. At one point I even forgot that I was ill and that there was a woman inexplicably sweeping the crowded dancefloor, weaving in and out of the hundreds of dancing people, back and forth, again and again… but I digress. Fu Han makes a great frontwoman; her stage presence could fill much bigger venues.

Oh, and if you’re wondering about the name, this is how they explain it: “One day we walked around Queensea Lake in Beijing, we saw a sign that read ‘This is mine, don’t even touch it, I’m queen sea big shark,’ then we thought, ‘Wow! That’s cool. Let’s take it.'”

They were awesome and I hope they come back soon.

Leave a Reply

